Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST
Industrial property in San Antonio, TX · sponsored by Cove Capital Investments
Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST was a DST sponsored by Cove Capital Investments that owned an industrial property in San Antonio, TX (68,400 SF). Its last Form D was filed Oct 7, 2024.
How it ended
The record lists the offering as fully subscribed; the last Form D was filed Oct 7, 2024.
Cove Capital Investments has 18 active offerings on record →
Key facts
- Minimum investment
- $1,000From the Form D
- Offering size
- $15,374,450Equity offered, per the Form D
- Sold
- 10.8%Form D, Oct 7, 2024; the % is our arithmetic
- Investors reported
- Form D, Oct 7, 20245
- Selling commissions
- Form D Item 15; the % is our arithmetic$922,467 · 6.0% of offering
- Financing
- All cash. This offering reports no mortgage debt.How it is financed ↓
- Offered under
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
Figures come from SEC Form D filings unless a source is cited. Sponsor-stated figures are as reported by the sponsor; Top1031 does not independently audit them. On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 →
Using this record to judge the sponsor? A licensed 1031 specialist from our affiliated partner can talk it through with you.
Ask a 1031 specialist about this recordFree. About: Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST. Top1031 is not a broker-dealer.Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST · San Antonio, TX · Photo: mma.prnewswire.com
What did Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST own?
The trust holds two single-story flex/industrial buildings constructed in 2000 in the Northwest submarket of San Antonio, Texas. 1 Connect Money reported on November 20, 2024 that Cove Capital had completed the purchase of the asset for placement into this trust. 3 In that report, Cove co-founder Chay Lapin said in-place rents at the property sat below market. 3 The specific street address has not been publicly disclosed.
- Reported location
- San Antonio, TX
- Property size
- 68,400 SF
How was it financed, and what did it cost to sell?
The trust carries no mortgage. Investor equity funded the purchase outright, which means no lender, no loan maturity and no refinancing deadline sitting behind the asset — and no borrowed money working alongside that equity either. Cove Capital markets the structure as debt-free. 1
Debt
- Financing
- All cash. This offering reports no mortgage debt.
Costs and terms from the Form D
- Selling commissions
- $922,467 · 6.0% of offering
- Finders’ fees
- $0
- Paid to officers, directors and promoters
- $1,625,702 · 10.5% of offeringForm D Item 16· The filing’s note: “Mr. Kay & Lapin will receive a portion of this amount (in)directly for various fees & selling commissions, EXCLUDING amounts received for sales in the state of OR, OR proceeds will be received by registered representatives licensed in the state of OR”
- Broker-dealers named in the Form D
- 1 named in the Form D
Show the firms
- FNEX Capital, LLC · CRD 166316
Individual representatives named in Item 12 are not listed.
- Date of first sale
- Sep 24, 2024
- Minimum investment
- $1,000
Form D Item 15 and Item 16 amounts may be the issuer’s estimates; each percentage is Top1031’s arithmetic on two Form D figures. Item 16 can overlap Item 15, so Top1031 does not add them together. The issuer marked these amounts as an estimate.
Who's behind Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST?
Cove Capital Investments is a Delaware statutory trust sponsor whose principal office is at 2958 Columbia Street, Torrance, California. 4 Co-founders Dwight Kay and Chay Lapin are named on this trust's Form D as its executive officers and managing members. 2 Reporting the San Antonio purchase on November 20, 2024, Connect Money described Cove's holdings at that point as 107 DST properties. 3
- Sponsor
- Offerings on record
What does the SEC record show?
The trust's SEC record consists of a single notice of exempt offering with no later amendments; it reports a first sale on September 24, 2024, shortly before the notice reached EDGAR. 2 The exemption claimed permits general advertising but restricts purchasers to investors whose accredited status has been verified.
- Legal Trust name
- Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST
- SEC CIK
- 2040117
- First Form D
- Oct 7, 2024
- Latest Form D
- Oct 7, 2024
- Filings on record
- 1
- Offered under
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
- Source filing
SEC Form D filings, newest first
| Filed | Form | Offering amount | Amount sold | Investors | Filing on SEC EDGAR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Form D | $15,374,450 | $1,671,500 | 5 | EDGAR |
Amounts, investor counts and minimums are as filed with the SEC on Form D. The change lines are Top1031’s arithmetic between consecutive filings; a new Form D notice starts a new count.
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Common questions
- What happened to Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST?
- Texas Small Bay 85 Flex DST is a Historical offering. The record lists the offering as fully subscribed; the last Form D was filed Oct 7, 2024.
- What was the minimum investment, and why do sources differ?
- Sources disagree and we report each as stated. Cove Capital's offering page lists a $25,000 minimum. The Form D reports the SEC-form minimum investment field as $1,000. A 2024 article on kpi1031.com describing the same San Antonio asset states a $100,000 minimum. The governing figure would be the one in the offering documents.
- How large was the offering?
- The Form D reported a total offering amount of $15,374,450 in beneficial interests in the Delaware statutory trust. Cove's November 25, 2024 launch coverage described the raise as targeting roughly $15.4 million in equity.
- Who are the tenants?
- Cove Capital names the U.S. Geological Survey and the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Services as anchor tenants and describes the property as 100% leased to a multi-tenant base. The remaining tenants, their square footage and their lease expiration dates are not publicly disclosed.
- Has there been a sale, refinancing or 721/UPREIT exit?
- No outcome has been reported. The purchase price, and any subsequent disposition, refinancing, or 721/UPREIT rollup — a contribution of the property into a REIT in exchange for operating-partnership units — are not disclosed in the SEC filing, sponsor materials, or independent reporting reviewed as of September 10, 2026. The trust is not structured with a REIT conversion feature.
In the news
Sources
Show sources (8)Hide sources (8)
These links support the record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.
- Cove Capital Investments (sponsor offering page) ↗
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR Form D (accession 0002040117-24-000001) ↗
- Connect Money (Connect CRE) ↗
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (data.sec.gov) ↗
- Connect Money (Connect CRE) ↗
- Kay Properties & Investments ↗
- AltsWire ↗
- connectmoney.com ↗
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current offering documents before investing.