Horizon North
Multifamily property in Phoenix, AZ · sponsored by IDEAL Capital Group Holdings
Horizon North was a DST sponsored by IDEAL Capital Group Holdings that owned a multifamily property in Phoenix, AZ (292 units). Its last Form D, filed Jan 8, 2024, reports the offering fully sold.
How it ended
The last Form D, filed Jan 8, 2024, reports the offering fully sold.
IDEAL Capital Group Holdings has 1 active offering on record →
Key facts
- Minimum investment
- $25,000From the Form D
- Offering size
- $47,200,000Equity offered, per the Form D
- Sold
- 100%Form D, Jan 8, 2024; the % is our arithmetic
- Investors reported
- Form D, Jan 8, 2024120
- Selling commissions
- Form D Item 15; the % is our arithmetic$2,832,000 · 6.0% of offering
- Financing
- Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.How it is financed ↓
- Offered under
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
Figures come from SEC Form D filings unless a source is cited. Sponsor-stated figures are as reported by the sponsor; Top1031 does not independently audit them. On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 →
Using this record to judge the sponsor? A licensed 1031 specialist from our affiliated partner can talk it through with you.
Ask a 1031 specialist about this recordFree. About: Horizon North. Top1031 is not a broker-dealer.Horizon North · Phoenix, AZ · Photo: thebusinessjournal.com
What did Horizon North own?
Greenlight Communities completed the community in 2023 as Cabana Happy Valley, on nine acres in North Phoenix. 2 IDEAL Capital Group bought it on or about September 21, 2023 for $79,250,000, its third Phoenix acquisition since 2021. 3 Institutional Property Advisors' Steve Gebing and Cliff David represented the seller and procured the buyer, which renamed the property Horizon North. 2 The sponsor's page markets it as minutes from TSMC's new semiconductor plant.
- Reported location
- Phoenix, AZ
- Property size
- 292 units
How was it financed, and what did it cost to sell?
Leveraged means the property carries mortgage debt, so investor equity sits behind a lender's claim. CBRE Capital Markets arranged a $43.59 million Freddie Mac acquisition loan when the property changed hands in September 2023.
Debt
- Financing
- Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.
Costs and terms from the Form D
- Selling commissions
- $2,832,000 · 6.0% of offering
- Finders’ fees
- $0
- Paid to officers, directors and promoters
- $3,131,323 · 6.6% of offeringForm D Item 16· The filing’s note: “Estimate includes Marketing and Due Diligence Allowance, Wholesaling Allowance, Managing Broker-Dealer Fee, Closing Costs, Acquisition Fee and Structuring, Financing and Loan Fees that may be paid to one or more related persons.”
- Broker-dealers named in the Form D
- 11 named in the Form D
Show the firms
- American Trust Investment Services, Inc. · CRD 3001
- Arkadios Capital · CRD 282710
- Cabin Securities, Inc. · CRD 137608
- Capulent LLC · CRD 155155
- DAI Securities, LLC · CRD 36673
- DFPG Investments, LLC · CRD 155576
- Emerson Equity LLC · CRD 130032
- FNEX Capital, LLC · CRD 166316
- Great Point Capital LLC · CRD 114203
- Orchard Securities, LLC · CRD 133378
- TCFG Wealth Management, LLC · CRD 164153
Individual representatives named in Item 12 are not listed.
- Date of first sale
- Oct 2, 2023
- Minimum investment
- $25,000
Form D Item 15 and Item 16 amounts may be the issuer’s estimates; each percentage is Top1031’s arithmetic on two Form D figures. Item 16 can overlap Item 15, so Top1031 does not add them together. The issuer marked these amounts as an estimate.
Who's behind Horizon North?
IDEAL Capital Group Holdings is a Clovis, California firm; its Form D names Austin Herzog, president of the sponsor, with ICG Depositor, LLC and ICG Deer Valley Administrative Trustee, LLC as the Trust's other control parties. 4 At acquisition, managing director Kevin Conway said IDEAL planned to own and operate the property long term. 3 A plaintiff-side securities law firm published an investor alert on the Trust dated March 22, 2025. 6 No complaint, arbitration award, or enforcement action was located in the public record.
- Sponsor
- Offerings on record
What does the SEC record show?
The Trust was offered under Rule 506(c), which permits general advertising but limits buyers to verified accredited investors — those meeting SEC income or net-worth tests. The issuer reported its first sale on October 2, 2023. 7 Each later amendment updated the raise's progress until the record closed.
- Legal Trust name
- ICG Deer Valley, DST
- SEC CIK
- 1994737
- First Form D
- Sep 22, 2023
- Latest Form D
- Jan 8, 2024
- Filings on record
- 4
- Offered under
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
- Source filing
SEC Form D filings, newest first
| Filed | Form | Offering amount | Amount sold | Investors | Filing on SEC EDGAR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Form D/A | $47,200,000 | $47,200,000+$15,717,903 | 120+42 | EDGAR | |
| Form D/A | $47,200,000 | $31,482,097+$16,724,671 | 78+45 | EDGAR | |
| Form D/A | $47,200,000 | $14,757,426+$14,757,426 | 33 | EDGAR | |
| Form D | $47,200,000 | $0 | EDGAR |
Amounts, investor counts and minimums are as filed with the SEC on Form D. The change lines are Top1031’s arithmetic between consecutive filings; a new Form D notice starts a new count.
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Common questions
- What happened to Horizon North?
- Horizon North is a Historical offering. The last Form D, filed Jan 8, 2024, reports the offering fully sold.
- What exactly is the property?
- Horizon North is a garden-style Class A multifamily community at 24825 N 19th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85085, in the North Phoenix/Deer Valley submarket. It was built in 2023 by Greenlight Communities on nine acres and originally marketed as Cabana Happy Valley before IDEAL Capital Group bought and renamed it.
- Is there a mortgage on the property?
- Yes. The Trust is leveraged. CBRE Capital Markets arranged a $43.59 million Freddie Mac acquisition loan at the September 2023 purchase. The loan's rate, term, amortization and current balance are not stated in the Form D filings; those terms would appear in the offering documents and loan documents.
- Who are the tenants?
- There is no single corporate tenant. Horizon North is an apartment community, so income comes from resident leases; a third-party listing dated August 6, 2026 advertises 12-month terms. Occupancy is not disclosed in any primary record reviewed.
- What is the March 2025 investor alert about this Trust?
- A plaintiff-side securities law firm published a blog post dated March 22, 2025 discussing ICG Deer Valley, DST and the offering costs disclosed in its Form D. It is commentary from a firm that solicits investor claims, not a primary record. No underlying complaint, arbitration award, or SEC enforcement action against the issuer was located.
In the news
Sources
Show sources (10)Hide sources (10)
These links support the record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.
- Horizon North resident/leasing site (Mark-Taylor Residential branding) ↗
- REBusinessOnline ↗
- The Business Journal (Fresno/Clovis) ↗
- SEC EDGAR — Form D/A filed 2023-10-27 ↗
- Fairway ↗
- The White Law Group ↗
- SEC EDGAR — Form D/A filed 2024-01-08 ↗
- idealcapgroup.com ↗
- thebusinessjournal.com ↗
- whitesecuritieslaw.com ↗
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current offering documents before investing.