The James at Canyon Creek
Multifamily property in Richardson, TX · sponsored by Cantor Fitzgerald
The James at Canyon Creek was a DST sponsored by Cantor Fitzgerald that owned a multifamily property in Richardson, TX (415 units). Its last Form D, filed Sep 25, 2024, reports the offering fully sold.
How it ended
The last Form D, filed Sep 25, 2024, reports the offering fully sold.
Key facts
- Minimum investment
- $250,000From the Form D
- Offering size
- $51,875,000Equity offered, per the Form D
- Sold
- 100%Form D, Sep 25, 2024; the % is our arithmetic
- Investors reported
- Form D, Sep 25, 2024170
- Selling commissions
- Form D Item 15; the % is our arithmetic$2,593,750 · 5.0% of offering
- Financing
- Not in the Form D. The Form D for this offering does not say whether it carries mortgage debt.How it is financed ↓
- Offered under
- Rule 506(b)General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.
Figures come from SEC Form D filings unless a source is cited. Sponsor-stated figures are as reported by the sponsor; Top1031 does not independently audit them. On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 →
Using this record to judge the sponsor? A licensed 1031 specialist from our affiliated partner can talk it through with you.
Ask a 1031 specialist about this recordFree. About: The James at Canyon Creek. Top1031 is not a broker-dealer.What did The James at Canyon Creek own?
The property sits at 850 Greenside Drive in Richardson, Texas, in the northern Dallas suburbs, and operates as a rental community of one-, two-, and three-bedroom homes. 1 It was 93% leased when the Trust was marketed. No primary acquisition record, purchase price, or year-built detail surfaced in the sources reviewed, so the building's history before the Trust is not documented here.
- Reported location
- Richardson, TX
- Property size
- 415 units
How was it financed, and what did it cost to sell?
The public record here does not confirm the Trust's leverage. A marketplace listing for the offering describes a fixed-rate loan with a ten-year term and interest-only payments for that full term; the lender, loan amount, and loan-to-value were not disclosed in the sources reviewed. 2
Debt
- Financing
- Not in the Form D. The Form D for this offering does not say whether it carries mortgage debt.
Costs and terms from the Form D
- Selling commissions
- $2,593,750 · 5.0% of offering
- Finders’ fees
- $0
- Paid to officers, directors and promoters
- $6,290,392 · 12.1% of offeringForm D Item 16· The filing’s note: “Estimate of certain fees & expenses, including Managing Broker-Dealer Fee, Marketing and Due Diligence Allowance, Offering & Organizational Expenses, Closing Costs, Loan & Lender Expenses & Acquisition Fee, which may accrue to one or more related persons.”
- Broker-dealers named in the Form D
- 26 named in the Form D
Show the firms
- American Trust Investment Services, Inc. · CRD 3001
- Ameritas Investment Company, LLC · CRD 14869
- Arkadios Capital · CRD 282710
- Aurora Securities · CRD 46147
- Avantax Investment Services, Inc. · CRD 13686
- Berthel, Fisher & Company Financial Services, Inc. · CRD 13609
- Calton & Associates, Inc. · CRD 20999
- Cambridge Investment Research, Inc. · CRD 39543
- Cantor Fitzgerald & Co. · CRD 134
- Colorado Financial Service Corporation · CRD 104343
- Concorde Investment Services, LLC · CRD 151604
- DAI Securities, LLC · CRD 36673
- DFPG Investments, LLC · CRD 155576
- Emerson Equity LLC · CRD 130032
- FNEX Capital, LLC · CRD 166316
- Great Point Capital LLC · CRD 114203
- Lighthouse Capital Group, LLC · CRD 169135
- Lightpath Capital, Inc. · CRD 34617
- MSC-BD, LLC · CRD 142927
- Madison Avenue Securities, LLC · CRD 23224
- McDermott Investment Services, LLC · CRD 154926
- Realized Financial, Inc. · CRD 22333
- Saxony Securities, Inc. · CRD 115547
- Stax Capital · CRD 300607
- The Strategic Financial Alliance, Inc. · CRD 126514
- VESTECH Securities, Inc. · CRD 41409
Individual representatives named in Item 12 are not listed.
- Date of first sale
- Mar 27, 2024
- Minimum investment
- $250,000
Form D Item 15 and Item 16 amounts may be the issuer’s estimates; each percentage is Top1031’s arithmetic on two Form D figures. Item 16 can overlap Item 15, so Top1031 does not add them together. The issuer marked these amounts as an estimate.
Who's behind The James at Canyon Creek?
Cantor Fitzgerald Investors, LLC is named as sponsor in the Trust's Form D/A, which also identifies CF Canyon Creek Depositor, LLC as depositor and CF Canyon Creek Manager, LLC as administrative trustee. 3 Cantor Fitzgerald is a global financial services firm whose asset management arm runs a recurring 1031 exchange program. AltsWire's January 12, 2025 year-in-review of the DST market listed this Trust among Cantor Fitzgerald's 2024 multifamily offerings. 4
- Sponsor
- Offerings on record
What does the SEC record show?
The Trust recorded its first sale on March 27, 2024, days after the initial Form D. 3 Two later amendments updated the offering amount and the raise's progress. The exemption used bars general advertising, so interests went to accredited investors — those meeting SEC income or net-worth tests — through existing relationships.
- Legal Trust name
- CF James Multifamily DST
- SEC CIK
- 2013777
- First Form D
- Mar 21, 2024
- Latest Form D
- Sep 25, 2024
- Filings on record
- 3
- Offered under
- Rule 506(b)General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.
- Source filing
SEC Form D filings, newest first
| Filed | Form | Offering amount | Amount sold | Investors | Filing on SEC EDGAR |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Form D/A | $51,875,000 | $51,875,000+$34,535,229 | 170+116 | EDGAR | |
| Form D/A | $51,875,000 | $17,339,771+$17,339,771 | 54 | EDGAR | |
| Form D | $51,875,000 | $0 | EDGAR |
Amounts, investor counts and minimums are as filed with the SEC on Form D. The change lines are Top1031’s arithmetic between consecutive filings; a new Form D notice starts a new count.
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Common questions
- What happened to The James at Canyon Creek?
- The James at Canyon Creek is a Historical offering. The last Form D, filed Sep 25, 2024, reports the offering fully sold.
- What is the property behind this Trust?
- The James at Canyon Creek, a luxury multifamily community at 850 Greenside Drive in Richardson, Texas, with one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartment homes. The listing record describes it as 93% leased at the time of the offering.
- Why does a DST matter for a 1031 exchange?
- A Delaware Statutory Trust holds real estate and issues beneficial interests that the IRS treats as direct property ownership for exchange purposes. That lets an investor selling an investment property identify a DST interest as replacement property within the 45-day identification window, without managing a building themselves.
- Is a 721/UPREIT exit planned?
- The record for this Trust shows no REIT conversion feature. A 721 or UPREIT exit is a structure in which DST interests are later contributed to a real estate investment trust's operating partnership in exchange for partnership units; nothing in the reviewed sources indicates that path here.
- What was the minimum investment?
- The Form D filings report a $250,000 minimum investment. The offering was made under a private-placement exemption that limits purchasers to accredited investors, meaning individuals meeting SEC income or net-worth thresholds.
- What is not disclosed in the public filings?
- Form D does not disclose debt terms, purchase price, projected distributions, or hold period. The loan amount, lender, and loan-to-value were not established in the sources reviewed, and no acquisition or title record was located. Those details would sit in the Trust's offering documents.
In the news
Sources
Show sources (8)Hide sources (8)
These links support the record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current offering documents before investing.