1601 VINE
Class-A office in Los Angeles, California — sponsored by Kingsbarn Realty Capital
Files with the SEC as KB Hollywood, DST
Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.
What is this, in one paragraph?
KB Hollywood, DST is a Delaware statutory trust — a structure that lets 1031 exchangers hold fractional interests treated as real property for tax purposes — sponsored by Kingsbarn Realty Capital. It owns 1601 Vine, an eight-story Class-A office building on Hollywood's Walk of Fame, nearly all of it leased to SKIMS Body Inc.1 The Trust is raising now from accredited investors, those meeting SEC income or net-worth tests.
98% SKIMS Body Inc new 15-yr lease, 2% City National Bank; built 2016, LEED Gold; acq 4/1/25
Show sources (10)Hide sources (10)
These links support the public record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.
- Kingsbarn Realty Capital — KB Hollywood, DST offering details ↗
- Los Angeles Times ↗
- Kingsbarn Realty Capital press release ↗
- The Real Deal via Yahoo Finance ↗
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission — Form D, KB Hollywood, DST ↗
- Superior Court of California, County of Los Angeles — tentative ruling ↗
- Kingsbarn Realty Capital — Current DST Offerings ↗
- kingsbarn.com ↗
- kingsbarn.com ↗
- docs.kingsbarn.com ↗
On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.
What exactly is the property?
Kingsbarn describes 1601 Vine as an eight-story Class-A office building at the corner of Vine Street and Selma Avenue, directly on the Hollywood Walk of Fame; the sponsor states it was built in 2016, is LEED Gold certified, and has five levels of subterranean parking.1 The Los Angeles Times reported that Kingsbarn acquired the building for $105 million, describing it as fully leased and anchored by SKIMS.2 Top1031's record dates the closing to April 1, 2025.
- Property address
- 1601 Vine Street, Los Angeles, CA 90028, California
- Property size
- +/-115,589 SF
Who is the tenant, and what's the lease?
Kingsbarn reports 98% of the building leased to apparel brand SKIMS Body Inc. under a new 15-year lease, with City National Bank in the remaining 2%, and cites $26 million of SKIMS tenant improvements.1 The acquisition announcement states SKIMS took occupancy in mid-2023 and leases through mid-2038.3 Nearly all the rent rides on one private tenant.
How are sales going?
These are the sponsor’s own numbers. They can lag what has actually sold, and they do not confirm that interests are still available.
- Amount sold
- $1,164,110
- Still available
- $125,335,890
- Investors reported
- 2
- Total offering
- $126,500,000
How is it financed, and what does it pay?
Leveraged means the Trust holds the property subject to mortgage debt, serviced before anything reaches investors. The Real Deal reported that acquisition financing included a $52 million loan from Hankey Capital, with additional financing from IBI Volcano, and that loan terms were unclear.4 Rate and maturity sit in the PPM — the private placement memorandum — and the loan documents.
- Financing
- Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.
Who's behind it?
Kingsbarn Realty Capital buys buildings itself and then syndicates them to 1031 exchange investors through a multi-offering DST platform. It announced this offering on August 21, 2025. The Form D names KB Hollywood ST, LLC as sponsor, KB Hollywood Holdings, LLC as trust manager and signatory trustee, KB Hollywood MT, LLC as depositor, and KB Acquisitions, LLC as master tenant.5 Kingsbarn and this Trust also sued KeyBank in Los Angeles over an earlier attempt to buy 1601 Vine; a November 22, 2024 tentative ruling let several claims proceed.6
- Sponsor
- Kingsbarn Realty Capital
- Legal Trust name
- KB Hollywood, DST
- May convert to a REIT
- No
- Offerings from this sponsor
- 10 active / 31 total offerings from Kingsbarn Realty Capital
Reported by the sponsor. Top1031 does not independently audit sponsor-reported figures.
What does the paperwork say?
A Form D is the brief notice a sponsor files with the SEC after its first sale; this one covers 100 Class 1 beneficial interests priced at $1,265,000 each and dates the first sale to August 14, 2025.5 The offering may be advertised publicly, so the sponsor must verify that each subscriber is accredited.
- Form D filedFirst and latest filing on record.
- Filings on record
- 1
- How it may be offered
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
- Source filing
- Read the filings on SEC EDGAR
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.
Common questions
Is 1601 VINE still raising money?
Top1031 lists 1601 VINE as active because the sponsor is still filing with the SEC. That does not confirm that interests remain available.
Where does Top1031 get the data for 1601 VINE?
Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Who is the tenant, and how concentrated is the risk?
Kingsbarn reports that SKIMS Body Inc., the apparel brand, occupies 98% of 1601 Vine under a new 15-year lease, with City National Bank in the remaining 2%, and that SKIMS invested $26 million in tenant improvements. Substantially all of the building's rent therefore depends on one private company. Independent reporting on the April 2025 sale described the building as fully leased and anchored by SKIMS, while the sponsor's page states the 98% / 2% split; the public material does not reconcile the two descriptions. Tenant credit, renewal and termination provisions, and default remedies are disclosed in the PPM — the private placement memorandum — which you obtain from the sponsor or a participating broker-dealer.
What did Kingsbarn pay for the building, and when?
The Los Angeles Times reported on April 7, 2025 that Kingsbarn acquired 1601 Vine for $105 million, and Top1031's record dates the closing to April 1, 2025. The price comes from transaction reporting rather than a filed public record. The building was then placed into KB Hollywood, DST, and Kingsbarn announced the DST offering on August 21, 2025.
Who lent against the property?
The Real Deal reported on April 18, 2025 that the acquisition financing included a $52 million loan from Hankey Capital, with additional financing from IBI Volcano, and that the loan terms were not clear. Interest rate, maturity, amortization, and covenants were not stated in the public records reviewed as of September 1, 2026, and the Form D does not disclose property-level debt terms. Ask the sponsor or your broker-dealer for the loan summary in the PPM, including when the debt matures relative to the expected hold and what happens at refinancing.
What is the KeyBank lawsuit about?
In Los Angeles Superior Court case 24STCV17680, KB Hollywood, DST and related Kingsbarn plaintiffs sued KeyBank over an earlier attempt to purchase 1601 Vine. On November 22, 2024 the court overruled KeyBank's demurrer to claims including promissory estoppel, unjust enrichment, negligent misrepresentation, and interference with contract — a procedural ruling that let the claims proceed without deciding whether the allegations are true. No final judgment was located in the records reviewed as of September 1, 2026. Separate reporting recounts that the deal was disrupted by 2023 bank financing turmoil before Kingsbarn closed it in April 2025.
Can this Trust convert into a REIT through a 721 exchange?
No 721/UPREIT exit — a contribution of the property to a REIT's operating partnership in exchange for partnership units — is indicated for this Trust in the records on file. If that exit path matters to you, any such option would appear in the PPM's disposition and exit-strategy sections, and it is worth asking the sponsor directly before you identify the Trust.
Is the offering still open?
Based on the records reviewed as of September 1, 2026, yes. The Form D filed September 25, 2025 is the filing on record, and Kingsbarn's current-offerings page still lists KB Hollywood, DST in Hollywood, California as a Class-A office DST offering, with no closing stated and no publication date shown on the page. Because filings lag and sponsor pages are often undated, confirm availability with the sponsor or your broker-dealer before naming the Trust in a 45-day identification.