Gander Mountain - College Station, TX

Freestanding retail in College Station, TX — sponsored by Inland Private Capital

Show sources (8)Hide sources (8)

These links support the historical public record; individual details may come from different sources.

Chapter 1

What is this, in one paragraph?

College Station Retail DST is listed here as Historical, closed to new investors. KBTX reported a May 29, 2018 transaction involving the former Gander Mountain building and plans for At Home to move in, without naming the legal buyer or seller.2

Minimum investment
$25k
Offering size
$11.6M
How much has sold
100.0%
Financing
Not stated. The filings for this offering do not say whether it carries mortgage debt.

Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.

On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.

Chapter 2

What exactly is the property?

The Trust's only asset was a one-story freestanding retail store at 2301 Earl Rudder Freeway South in College Station, Brazos County, Texas, occupied by Gander Mountain since 2007.1 Inland Private Capital brought it to market as a single-property Trust in 2012. Building area is not settled in the public record: coverage of the 2018 sale described the store as 76,632 square feet, larger than the offering memorandum figure.2 No purchase price appears in the public record.

Reported location
College Station, TX
Property size
67,753 square feet of gross rentable area; 8.642 acres
Chapter 3

Who is the tenant, and what's the lease?

Gander Mountain Company, a Minnesota corporation, was the sole tenant and occupied the entire building when the Trust was offered; the lease ran from May 2007 to May 31, 2022, with four five-year renewal options.1 After Gander Mountain's bankruptcy, KBTX reported the College Station store among four Texas locations announced to stay open under Camping World.3

Chapter 4

How did it end?

What happened

Sold after 1.6 years; sponsor reported 119% total return

The offering memorandum identifies Gander Mountain Company as tenant; later property coverage reports the former building was sold to At Home in May 2018.

67,753 square feet of gross rentable area; 8.642 acres
119.1%Total return · as reported by the sponsor
12.1%Annualized return · as reported by the sponsor
$12,000,000Sale price · as reported by the sponsor
Counted on Inland Private Capital’s Record Card as: Sold, result reported by the sponsor (119.1%, as reported by the sponsor) Document
Chapter 5

How is it financed, and what does it pay?

Inland Private Capital described the offering as unleveraged, with investors expected to own the property free and clear of mortgage debt once all equity was collected.1 A $6,113,600 bridge loan from Bank of the Ozarks, secured by a deed of trust and maturing February 28, 2013, temporarily funded the acquisition.1

Chapter 7

What does the paperwork say?

The filing record is short: an initial Form D — the brief SEC notice for an exempt private offering — followed by amendments tracking the raise to completion. It was offered under Rule 506(b), which bars general advertising and limits purchasers to accredited investors. An amendment also cites Rule 504(b)(1)(i) and a first sale on April 11, 2012.4

  1. First Form D filedThe public offering record begins.
  2. Offering amount recordedA Form D amendment recorded offering and sales totals.
  3. Filing record updatedA later amendment updated the sponsor’s filing record.
  4. Latest Form D filedThe most recent sponsor-filed checkpoint in this record.
Legal Trust name
College Station Retail DST
Filings on record
7
How it may be offered
Rule 506(b)General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.

A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.

Chapter 8

Common questions

What happened to Gander Mountain - College Station, TX?

Gander Mountain - College Station, TX is a Historical offering: its latest SEC filing is outside the Active window. The outcome and source documents are shown separately.

Where does Top1031 get the data for Gander Mountain - College Station, TX?

Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

Can I still invest in College Station Retail DST?

No. This offering is listed here as Historical, closed to new investors. The reported building transaction does not by itself establish the exact Trust’s legal status.[2]

What happened to the building?

KBTX reported that the building transaction was finalized on May 29, 2018 and that At Home was moving into the former Gander Mountain store. Its report cites the seller’s broker but does not name the legal buyer or seller.[2]

Was there a reported outcome for investors?

An investor-level return for this exact Trust is not established by the cited sources. KBTX confirms the building transaction but does not state investor proceeds.[2]

Was this offering leveraged?

The offering memorandum describes it as "No Leverage," with investors expected to own the property free and clear once all offering equity was collected. Separately, it discloses a $6,113,600 bridge loan from Bank of the Ozarks with a one-year term maturing February 28, 2013, prepayable without penalty.

What happened to Gander Mountain as tenant?

Gander Mountain Company was the sole tenant at the offering, under a lease running to May 31, 2022. KBTX reported in May 2017 that, following Gander Mountain's bankruptcy, the College Station store was among four Texas locations announced to remain open under Camping World's planned asset purchase. The building later became an At Home.

Does the Trust still own the College Station property?

The cited report records a May 2018 building transaction, but does not identify the legal seller. It does not by itself establish this exact Trust’s current ownership or dissolution.[2]

Chapter 9

In the news

Chapter 11

What can I do next?

Check the source documents, compare this offering with other public records, or ask a licensed specialist about the facts shown here.