Southern Star Storage III Carolina DST

Self-storage property · sponsored by Southern Star Storage

Southern Star Storage III Carolina DST was a DST sponsored by Southern Star Storage that owned a self-storage property. Its last Form D was filed Aug 15, 2022.

How it ended

No outcome recorded · under 7 years

Last Form D filed Aug 15, 2022.

Key facts

Minimum investment
$100,000
From the Form D
Offering size
$4,967,504
Equity offered, per the Form D
Sold
Not reported after the first Form D (Aug 15, 2022)
Form D, Aug 15, 2022
Selling commissions
$447,076 · 9.0% of offering
Form D Item 15; the % is our arithmetic
Financing
Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.
How it is financed ↓
Offered under
Rule 506(b)
General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.

Figures come from SEC Form D filings unless a source is cited. Sponsor-stated figures are as reported by the sponsor; Top1031 does not independently audit them. On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 →

Using this record to judge the sponsor? A licensed 1031 specialist from our affiliated partner can talk it through with you.

Ask a 1031 specialist about this recordFree. About: Southern Star Storage III Carolina DST. Top1031 is not a broker-dealer.

What did the Trust own?

A 2023 equity interest purchase agreement filed with the SEC identifies the Carolina portfolio as two North Carolina self-storage facilities: Main Street Self Storage at 242 E. Main Street in Havelock, and Island Storage at 5340 NC-12 in Frisco. 1 A September 2024 presentation from Silver Star Properties described the same trust as two properties totaling 43,383 square feet and 393 units. 2 Acquisition date and price are not in the public record.

How was it financed, and what did it cost to sell?

Debt

Financing
Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.

Costs and terms from the Form D

Selling commissions
$447,076 · 9.0% of offering
Finders’ fees
$0
Paid to officers, directors and promoters
$127,763 · 2.5% of offering
Form D Item 16
Broker-dealers named in the Form D
1 named in the Form D
Show the firms

Individual representatives named in Item 12 are not listed.

Date of first sale
Not in the Form D
Minimum investment
$100,000

Form D Item 15 and Item 16 amounts may be the issuer’s estimates; each percentage is Top1031’s arithmetic on two Form D figures. Item 16 can overlap Item 15, so Top1031 does not add them together. The issuer marked these amounts as an estimate.

What does the SEC record show?

No amendment ever followed the original Form D, so the SEC file itself never reported a sale, a closing, or a change in terms. The Trust was offered under Rule 506(b), a private-placement exemption that bars general advertising and limits sales to accredited investors — people meeting SEC income or net-worth tests — the sponsor already knew.

Legal Trust name
SOUTHERN STAR STORAGE III CAROLINA DST
SEC CIK
1941379
First Form D
Aug 15, 2022
Latest Form D
Aug 15, 2022
Filings on record
1
Offered under
Rule 506(b)
General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.

SEC Form D filings, newest first

SEC Form D filings for Southern Star Storage III Carolina DST, newest first
FiledFormOffering amountAmount soldFiling on SEC EDGAR
Form D$4,967,504
$0
EDGAR

Amounts, investor counts and minimums are as filed with the SEC on Form D. The change lines are Top1031’s arithmetic between consecutive filings; a new Form D notice starts a new count.

A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

Common questions

What happened to Southern Star Storage III Carolina DST?
Southern Star Storage III Carolina DST is a Historical offering. Last Form D filed Aug 15, 2022.
What does this Trust actually own?
An equity interest purchase agreement filed with the SEC in April 2023 identifies the Carolina portfolio as two North Carolina self-storage facilities: Main Street Self Storage at 242 E. Main Street in Havelock, and Island Storage at 5340 NC-12 in Frisco. A September 2024 Silver Star Properties presentation described the trust as two properties totaling 43,383 square feet and 393 units. The purchase price, acquisition date, and any mortgage debt are not disclosed in the public record.
What is still unknown about this Trust?
Quite a lot. The public record does not establish the acquisition price or date, whether the Trust used mortgage debt, the legal identity of the property operator, occupancy, whether the offering ever formally closed or raised capital beyond what the 2022 Form D showed, or whether the two North Carolina properties have since been sold.

In the news

Sources

Show sources (10)Hide sources (10)

These links support the record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.

DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current offering documents before investing.