Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST

Self-storage property — sponsored by Inland Private Capital

Minimum investment
$25k
Offering size
$19.6M
How much has sold
100.0%
Asset type
Self-storage property
Location
Not stated
Financing
Not stated. The filings for this offering do not say whether it carries mortgage debt.

Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.

Chapter 1

What is this, in one paragraph?

Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST is a Delaware statutory trust — a structure that lets 1031 exchangers hold fractional interests in real estate — sponsored by Inland Private Capital.1 It registered its private offering with the SEC in May 2022 and amended that filing in July 2022. The filings establish who runs the Trust, but they name no property, address, unit count, operator, or lender.

Show sources (6)Hide sources (6)

These links support the historical public record; individual details may come from different sources.

On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.

Chapter 2

How did it end?

What happened

No ending on record

No public full-cycle, sale, 721 exchange, or disposition announcement found for Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST; only original Form D filings (2022) on SEC EDGAR and no follow-up monetization press release could be located [4].

No exact-property marketing page, address, size, photo, or dated news item for Self-Storage Portfolio XVII was verified in the reviewed public sources; other numbered Inland self-storage portfolios were excluded as different offerings.

Supporting evidence
Chapter 4

What does the paperwork say?

The record holds two filings: an original Form D reporting a first sale on May 9, 2022, then an amendment that updated the amount sold.4 The Offering was made under Rule 506(b), the private-placement path that bars general advertising and reaches accredited investors through existing relationships.

  1. First Form D filedThe public offering record begins.
  2. Latest Form D filedThe most recent sponsor-filed checkpoint in this record.
Filings on record
2
How it may be offered
Rule 506(b)Not advertised publicly. Offered through existing relationships.

A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.

Chapter 5

Common questions

What happened to Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST?

Top1031 lists Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST as historical. It is no longer raising money.

Where does Top1031 get the data for Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST?

Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

What property does this Trust actually own?

No verified public source identifies it. A Form D discloses the issuer, the offering size, and who signs — not the real estate. Research found no Inland marketing page, address, photo, square footage, or unit count tied specifically to Self-Storage Portfolio XVII, and other numbered Inland self-storage portfolios are separate offerings that cannot stand in for this one. Property specifics would appear in the private placement memorandum (PPM), the sponsor's full disclosure document given to prospective investors.

Can I still invest in this Trust?

No. This is a Historical Trust — closed to new investors. Its July 21, 2022 Form D/A reported the offering fully subscribed, roughly two months after the first sale on May 9, 2022.[5] Any interest today would have to come from a secondary transfer, which DST governing documents typically restrict.

Is the Trust leveraged, and who is the lender?

Unknown from public filings. Form D does not require disclosure of property-level debt, and no verified source states whether this Trust used mortgage financing, its loan-to-value, or a lender name. The PPM would address the capital structure directly.

Who operates the storage facilities and how are they leased?

Not disclosed in any verified source. Self-storage assets are typically operated under a management or master-lease arrangement rather than let to a single corporate tenant, but no operator name, master lease, or occupancy figure for this specific Trust appears in the SEC record or in reviewed public materials.

There is a law firm page about this Trust online — what is it?

A page dated September 6, 2024 from Goodman & Nekvasil, P.A. titled "Self-Storage Portfolio XVII DST Investigation" invites investors who believe their purchase involved an unsuitable or improper recommendation to discuss arbitration representation.[6] It is attorney advertising. No complaint, regulatory order, docket, or other underlying record was located, and the page establishes no fraud, liability, or distress at the Trust.

What does Rule 506(b) mean for how this was sold?

Rule 506(b) is the private-placement exemption that lets an issuer raise unlimited capital without SEC registration, provided it does not generally advertise or solicit. Investors are reached through pre-existing relationships, typically via broker-dealers or registered investment advisers, and are almost always accredited — meeting SEC income or net-worth thresholds.