Flatirons Self-Storage V DST

Self-storage — sponsored by Flatirons Asset Management

Minimum investment
Not stated
Offering size
$68.1M
How much has sold
None sold yet
Asset type
Self-storage
Location
Not stated
Financing
Not stated. The filings for this offering do not say whether it carries mortgage debt.

Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.

Chapter 1

What is this, in one paragraph?

Flatirons Self-Storage V DST is a Delaware statutory trust — a structure that lets 1031 exchange investors hold fractional interests in real estate — tied to a self-storage portfolio spread across eight states.1 Flatirons Asset Management, a Denver-based sponsor and subsidiary of Crosstimbers Capital Group, stands behind it. The raise was first offered privately, then re-filed for public solicitation to accredited investors. No Form D has followed April 2023.

On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.

Chapter 2

What exactly is the property?

Flatirons Asset Management announced on October 27, 2022 that it had acquired a self-storage portfolio from Red Dot Storage, with facilities across eight states. The Trust itself is a Delaware entity, carrying EIN 883306302 in the SEC's issuer record.1 Its own Form D filings name no addresses, and no primary public record links specific buildings to this Trust by name.

Property size
33 properties, ~9,000 units, ~1.3M sq ft
Chapter 3

How did it end?

What happened

No ending on record

No public full-cycle or disposition announcement was found for Flatirons Self-Storage V DST; the trust filed its Form D in December 2022/April 2023 and the White Law Group published an investor alert in May 2024, but no exit or sale event was identified.

Flatirons Self-Storage V DST (Form D first filed Dec 27, 2022; last amendment Apr 20, 2023; offering amount $74,523,000) was sponsored by Flatirons Asset Management (Denver, CO), a subsidiary of Crosstimbers Capital Group. The underlying portfolio consists of 33 self-storage facilities acquired from Red Dot Storage on Oct 27, 2022, totaling more than 9,000 storage units and more than 1.3 million rentable sq ft across eight states. Flatirons Asset Management is located at 10000 Memorial Drive, Suite 740, Houston, TX 77024 per SEC filings.

33 properties, ~9,000 units, ~1.3M sq ft
Supporting evidence
Chapter 5

What does the paperwork say?

The Trust first raised under a private-placement rule that bars general advertising; an amendment then cut the stated offering amount to $6,410,256 and reported all of it sold.3 A second, larger Form D followed, this one permitting public solicitation to investors whose accredited status is verified.4

  1. First Form D filedThe public offering record begins.
  2. Offering amount recordedA Form D amendment recorded offering and sales totals.
  3. Latest Form D filedThe most recent sponsor-filed checkpoint in this record.
Filings on record
3
How it may be offered
Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.

A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.

Chapter 6

Common questions

What happened to Flatirons Self-Storage V DST?

Top1031 lists Flatirons Self-Storage V DST as historical. It is no longer raising money.

Where does Top1031 get the data for Flatirons Self-Storage V DST?

Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.

Is Flatirons Self-Storage V DST still raising money?

The SEC record carries three filings, the most recent dated April 20, 2023, and nothing since. In practice a Trust with no filing activity for more than three years is treated as closed to new investors, but only the sponsor can confirm the current status of the offering.

What does the Trust actually own?

Self-storage. Flatirons Asset Management announced on October 27, 2022 that it had acquired a portfolio of self-storage facilities from Red Dot Storage spanning eight states, and this Trust was formed and filed its first Form D shortly afterward. The Trust's own SEC filings do not list individual property addresses, so no primary record ties named buildings to this specific Trust.

Why are there two different Form D filings in April 2023?

The Trust amended its original filing to a smaller offering amount of $6,410,256 and reported all of it sold, closing out the private tranche.[3] It then filed a new, larger Form D under the rule that permits public advertising of the offering to investors whose accredited status is verified — meaning investors must document income or net worth rather than simply self-certify.[4]

Is there a 721/UPREIT exit planned?

Nothing in the filing record indicates one. A 721/UPREIT exit is where a DST's property is contributed to a real estate investment trust in exchange for operating partnership units; the record for this Trust shows no such conversion path.

How is the portfolio financed?

The public record does not say. The Form D filings disclose equity offering amounts only — no lender, loan balance, or loan-to-value figure appears in any filing on record for this Trust. Those terms would sit in the private placement memorandum, the offering document a sponsor provides to prospective investors.

Who is the tenant?

Self-storage typically has no single tenant; income comes from many individual renters rather than one corporate lease. No lease, occupancy, or operator terms for this Trust appear in the SEC filing record.

Chapter 7

In the news