Rutherford Boynton, DST
Other property in San Jose, CA — sponsor not disclosed
Show sources (4)Hide sources (4)
These links support the historical public record; individual details may come from different sources.
What is this, in one paragraph?
Rutherford Boynton, DST is a Delaware statutory trust — a structure that lets 1031 exchangers hold fractional interests in real estate — that filed one Form D with the SEC on August 9, 2023 covering a $9,092,000 offering of trust interests to accredited investors. The filing names no sponsor and no property, and no further SEC filing has followed it.
Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.
On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.
What exactly is the property?
The Form D names no property. A Walker Dunlop transaction record lists "Rutherford Boynton DST" as buyer of 975 Boynton Ave in San Jose, California, a 48-unit apartment building built in 1974 — but dates that purchase to June 18, 2015, years before this trust was organized in 2023.3 Redfin's public-record data separately shows a $14,440,000 sale at that address on August 25, 2023, naming no buyer.4
- Reported location
- San Jose, CA
Who is the tenant, and what's the lease?
The Form D discloses no tenant, lease, or rent-roll information, and no master lease or operating-partner agreement for this trust appears in the public records reviewed. If the asset is the San Jose apartment building the transaction record points to, income would come from many residential leases rather than a single corporate tenant.
How did it end?
Sold
Property-level evidence links Rutherford Boynton, DST's 48-unit 975 Boynton Ave asset to a 2023 disposition: Traded labels the address SOLD at $14,000,000, while Trulia reports a post-raise sale for $14,444,000 in August 2023, but no source names the DST in the exit or discloses investor-return/full-cycle metrics.
How is it financed, and what does it pay?
No lender, loan amount, or mortgage term for this trust appears in the Form D or in any public record reviewed. A leveraged DST carries property-level mortgage debt that passes through to investors' exchange math; an all-cash DST carries none. Which of the two this is has not been documented publicly.
Who's behind it?
The Form D's related-persons schedule identifies Kevin Dare, Patrick Mockler, and Justin Bautista, each as an executive officer and manager of the trust's signatory trustee — but the filing never gives that trustee's legal name.2 The trust's registered mailing address with the SEC is 241 West Main Street, Los Gatos, California.1 No sponsor platform, program history, or assets-under-management figure can be tied to this entity from the filings on record.
- Sponsor
- Sponsor not disclosedThe filing does not identify a sponsor we can confirm.
- May convert to a REIT
- No
Reported by the sponsor. Top1031 does not independently audit sponsor-reported figures.
What does the paperwork say?
The filing reports a first sale on July 28, 2023 and an offering expected to last no more than one year.2 No amendment or later report has followed it. Rule 506(c) allows an offering to be advertised publicly, provided the issuer verifies that every buyer is an accredited investor.
- Form D filedFirst and latest filing on record.
- Legal Trust name
- Rutherford Boynton, DST
- Filings on record
- 1
- How it may be offered
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
- Source filing
- Read the filings on SEC EDGAR
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.
Common questions
What happened to Rutherford Boynton, DST?
Rutherford Boynton, DST is a Historical offering: its latest SEC filing is outside the Active window. The outcome and source documents are shown separately.
Where does Top1031 get the data for Rutherford Boynton, DST?
Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Who sponsors Rutherford Boynton, DST?
The August 9, 2023 Form D does not name a sponsor. Its related-persons schedule lists Kevin Dare, Patrick Mockler, and Justin Bautista, each described as an executive officer and manager of the issuer's signatory trustee, but the trustee entity's legal name does not appear in the filing, and no primary record reviewed supplies it. The trust's SEC mailing address is 241 West Main Street, Los Gatos, California.
What property does the trust own?
The Form D identifies no property. A Walker Dunlop commercial transaction record names "Rutherford Boynton DST" as buyer of 975 Boynton Ave, San Jose, California — a 48-unit multifamily building built in 1974 — but assigns that transaction a June 18, 2015 date, which predates the trust's 2023 organization. Redfin separately reports a sale at the same address on August 25, 2023 without naming a buyer. The chain of ownership is not documented in public sources.
What is the minimum investment?
The Form D reports a minimum outside investment of $100,000. Minimums in a DST are set by the offering documents and can be waived or adjusted by the sponsor, so the PPM (private placement memorandum — the offering's full disclosure document) governs.
What does Rule 506(c) mean for this offering?
Rule 506(c) is the private-placement exemption that lets an issuer advertise an offering publicly, on the condition that every purchaser is an accredited investor whose status the issuer has taken reasonable steps to verify — typically tax returns, brokerage statements, or a CPA or attorney letter, rather than a self-certification checkbox.
Is the offering still open to new investors?
The public record does not say. The Form D filed August 9, 2023 stated the offering was expected to last no more than one year from its first sale on July 28, 2023, and no amendment, termination notice, or later filing has appeared for this entity since. Confirming current availability requires contacting the offering's sponsor or trustee directly.
Is there debt on the property?
Not disclosed. The Form D addresses the securities offering, not property financing, and no mortgage, lender, or loan amount for this trust surfaced in the records reviewed. Debt matters in a 1031 exchange because an exchanger generally needs to replace relinquished debt as well as equity, so this is a question for the PPM.