Dawson Park Apartments
Multifamily property in Baton Rouge, LA · sponsored by Rance King Properties
Dawson Park Apartments was a DST sponsored by Rance King Properties that owned a multifamily property in Baton Rouge, LA (155 units). Its last Form D was filed Aug 19, 2022.
How it ended
The record lists the offering as fully subscribed; the last Form D was filed Aug 19, 2022.
Key facts
- Minimum investment
- $25,000From the Form D
- Offering size
- $33,600,000Equity offered, per the Form D
- Sold
- Not reported in its Form D filings (latest Aug 19, 2022)Form D, Aug 19, 2022
- Selling commissions
- Form D Item 15; the % is our arithmetic$2,016,000 · 6.0% of offering
- Financing
- Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.How it is financed ↓
- Offered under
- Rule 506(b)General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.
Figures come from SEC Form D filings unless a source is cited. Sponsor-stated figures are as reported by the sponsor; Top1031 does not independently audit them. On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 →
Using this record to judge the sponsor? A licensed 1031 specialist from our affiliated partner can talk it through with you.
Ask a 1031 specialist about this recordFree. About: Dawson Park Apartments. Top1031 is not a broker-dealer.What did Dawson Park Apartments own?
The community stands at 8451 Picardy Ave. in Baton Rouge, next to Baton Rouge General Hospital in the city's health district. 2 It was newly constructed when Rance King Properties bought it off-market directly from the developer in July 2022. ELIFIN Realty reported the price at $45,725,000, or about $295,000 per unit. 1 The apartments are one- and two-bedroom units. 3
- Reported location
- Baton Rouge, LA
- Property size
- 155 units
How was it financed, and what did it cost to sell?
Rance King Properties reported that First Foundation Bank provided the loan on interest-only terms for the entire term — meaning the balance does not amortize and the full principal falls due at maturity. 3 The principal amount was not disclosed.
Debt
- Financing
- Leveraged. This offering reports mortgage debt on the property.
Costs and terms from the Form D
- Selling commissions
- $2,016,000 · 6.0% of offering
- Finders’ fees
- $0
- Paid to officers, directors and promoters
- $1,600,375 · 4.7% of offeringForm D Item 16
- Broker-dealers named in the Form D
- 34 named in the Form D
Show the firms
- Arkadios Capital · CRD 282710
- Aurora Securities · CRD 46147
- Cabot Lodge Securities LLC · CRD 159712
- Capulent LLC · CRD 155155
- Center Street Securities, Inc. · CRD 26898
- Colorado Financial Service Corporation · CRD 104343
- Concorde Investment Services, LLC · CRD 151604
- Courtlandt Securities Corporation · CRD 137356
- Crown Capital Securities, L.P. · CRD 6312
- DAI Securities, LLC · CRD 36673
- DFPG Investments, LLC · CRD 155576
- Emerson Equity LLC · CRD 130032
- FNEX Capital, LLC · CRD 166316
- Great Point Capital LLC · CRD 114203
- Growth Capital Services, Inc. · CRD 124658
- Huntwicke Securities, LLC · CRD 146993
- Independent Financial Group, LLC · CRD 7717
- JRL Capital Corporation · CRD 10225
- Lightpath Capital, Inc. · CRD 34617
- McDermott Investment Services, LLC · CRD 154926
- Metropolitan Capital Investment Banc, Inc. · CRD 148820
- Nationwide Planning Associates Inc. · CRD 31029
- Oak Tree Securities, Inc. · CRD 18126
- Patrick Capital Markets, LLC · CRD 16518
- Pinnacle Capital Securities, LLC · CRD 106213
- RCX Capital Group, LLC · CRD 114290
- Rance King Securities Corporation · CRD 15737
- Realized Financial, Inc. · CRD 22333
- Select Capital Corporation · CRD 145997
- The Strategic Financial Alliance, Inc. · CRD 126514
- Wealthforge Securities, LLC · CRD 152550
- Westpark Capital, Inc. · CRD 39914
- Whitehall-Parker Securities, Inc. · CRD 10608
- Willow Cove Investment Group, Inc. · CRD 107824
Individual representatives named in Item 12 are not listed.
- Date of first sale
- Not in the Form D
- Minimum investment
- $25,000
Form D Item 15 and Item 16 amounts may be the issuer’s estimates; each percentage is Top1031’s arithmetic on two Form D figures. Item 16 can overlap Item 15, so Top1031 does not add them together. The issuer marked these amounts as an estimate.
Who's behind Dawson Park Apartments?
Rance King Properties sponsors 1031 exchange programs and appears in trade press under the RK Properties name. 3 The firm announced the Dawson Park purchase on July 1, 2022 and reported the offering fully subscribed on February 24, 2023. 3 Apartment listings identify RK Properties as the property manager, though they do not establish the ownership or master-lease structure. 5 No sponsor developments after February 2023 bearing on this Trust were located in public sources.
- Sponsor
- Offerings on record
What does the SEC record show?
The Trust filed an original Form D — the SEC's brief notice of a private, exempt offering — and one amendment about five weeks later, each carrying a $25,000 minimum investment. Both were made under Rule 506(b), which bars general advertising and limits sales to accredited investors the sponsor already knows. No later amendment reported the offering's progress.
- Legal Trust name
- RK Dawson Park DST
- SEC CIK
- 1937672
- First Form D
- Jul 12, 2022
- Latest Form D
- Aug 19, 2022
- Filings on record
- 2
- Offered under
- Rule 506(b)General advertising and solicitation are not permitted under this exemption.
- Source filing
SEC Form D filings, newest first
| Filed | Form | Offering amount | Amount sold | Filing on SEC EDGAR |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Form D/A | $33,600,000 | $0 | EDGAR | |
| Form D | $33,600,000 | $0 | EDGAR |
Amounts, investor counts and minimums are as filed with the SEC on Form D. The change lines are Top1031’s arithmetic between consecutive filings; a new Form D notice starts a new count.
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Common questions
- What happened to Dawson Park Apartments?
- Dawson Park Apartments is a Historical offering. The record lists the offering as fully subscribed; the last Form D was filed Aug 19, 2022.
- What did the Trust pay for the property?
- ELIFIN Realty reported that RK Dawson Park DST bought Dawson Park Apartments in July 2022 for $45,725,000, about $295,000 per unit. The Baton Rouge Business Report separately reported the sale at $45.7 million for the four-story, 155-unit complex.
- What debt is on the property?
- AltsWire reported financing from First Foundation Bank with a 10-year term, a fixed annual interest rate of 4.4%, and interest-only payments for the entire term. The loan principal was not stated in that report, and no loan document is part of the SEC record.
- Does this Trust offer a 721/UPREIT exit?
- No REIT conversion feature is indicated in the data on record. A 721 or UPREIT exit is an arrangement in which investors can eventually swap their real estate interest for operating-partnership units in a REIT; nothing here shows that path. Any exit terms would be governed by the offering documents.
- What is still not publicly known about this Trust?
- The seller and developer's identity, the loan principal, the full capitalization stack, current occupancy, and any material property event after February 2023 were not established in public sources. The sponsor and current listings give the address as 8451 Picardy Ave., while one brokerage account cites 8453 Picardy Ave.; that discrepancy is unresolved.
In the news
Sources
Show sources (10)Hide sources (10)
These links support the record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current offering documents before investing.