Shaw's Supermarket - Berlin, VT
Retail (single-tenant net lease grocery) property in Berlin, VT — sponsor not disclosed
Files with the SEC as PREP Essential Net Lease I DST
Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.
What is this, in one paragraph?
PREP Essential Net Lease I DST is a Delaware Statutory Trust — fractional ownership of a single property, structured so the interests can serve as 1031 exchange replacement property — holding the Shaw's Supermarket in Berlin, Vermont. PREP Exchange says the Trust bought the building with no mortgage, with Shaw's as tenant and O'Reilly Auto Parts subleasing adjacent space.1 PREP presented it as its first DST.1
Debt-free 0% LTV; ~$24M raise; Shaw's (Albertsons) lease to 12/2039 +6x5yr opts; subtenant O'Reilly Auto Parts; 100% occ
Show sources (7)Hide sources (7)
These links support the public record as a whole; individual details may come from different sources.
On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.
What exactly is the property?
The building is a two-unit structure: the supermarket plus adjacent space now occupied by O'Reilly Auto Parts as Shaw's subtenant.1 PREP reports it bought the Berlin store in July 2022 for an earlier PREP-sponsored offering before placing it in this DST, and cites multiple capital improvements over the years.1 Shaw's own store locator shows a supermarket operating at the address.3
- Property address
- 160 Paine Turnpike North, Berlin, VT
- Property size
- 89,702 SF on 35.75 acres
Who is the tenant, and what's the lease?
Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc., one of the Albertsons grocery banners, has leased the property continuously since March 1997, and PREP reports a 15-year extension signed in December 2024.1 AltsWire reported the term runs through December 31, 2039 with six five-year options at fair market value.2 Under a net lease the tenant, not the Trust, generally bears taxes, insurance and building upkeep.
How are sales going?
These are the sponsor’s own numbers. They can lag what has actually sold, and they do not confirm that interests are still available.
Raise history appears here once sales are filed — free account required.
How is it financed, and what does it pay?
No lender sits behind this Trust: PREP says it bought the property outright, so there is no loan maturity, no refinancing deadline and no lender consent before a sale.1 The trade-off is that a debt-free Trust supplies no replacement debt, so a mortgage paid off on the relinquished property must be accounted for elsewhere.
- Financing
- All cash. This offering reports no mortgage debt.
Who's behind it?
PREP Property Group announced the PREP Exchange platform from Park City, Utah on December 16, 2025, saying a first offering would reach market in early 2026; PREP Exchange is described as an affiliate of PREP Property Group, LLC.1 The Form D names PREP Exchange LLC as the issuer's promoter and sponsor and lists Michael C. Phillips and Sara J. Brennan as executive officers, with Brennan signing as COO of the sponsor.4 PREP presented this Trust as its debut DST on March 23, 2026.1
- Sponsor
- Sponsor not disclosedThe filing does not identify a sponsor we can confirm.
- Legal Trust name
- PREP Essential Net Lease I DST
- May convert to a REIT
- No
Reported by the sponsor. Top1031 does not independently audit sponsor-reported figures.
What does the paperwork say?
The SEC record here is a new-notice Form D rather than a string of amendments, and no later amendment surfaced in filings reviewed through August 29, 2026. Because the offering may be generally advertised, the sponsor must document each buyer's accredited status rather than accept a self-certification.
- Form D filedFirst and latest filing on record.
- Filings on record
- 1
- How it may be offered
- Rule 506(c)May be advertised publicly. Every buyer’s accredited status must be verified.
- Source filing
- Read the filings on SEC EDGAR
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.
Common questions
Is Shaw's Supermarket - Berlin, VT still raising money?
Top1031 lists Shaw's Supermarket - Berlin, VT as active because the sponsor is still filing with the SEC. That does not confirm that interests remain available.
Where does Top1031 get the data for Shaw's Supermarket - Berlin, VT?
Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
What does "debt-free" mean for a 1031 exchanger here?
PREP Exchange's March 23, 2026 announcement describes an all-cash, debt-free acquisition with no property-level mortgage. That removes loan maturities, refinancing and lender consent from the picture, but it also means the Trust supplies no replacement debt. An exchanger whose relinquished property carried a mortgage must otherwise account for that debt to avoid boot. Work the arithmetic through with your own tax adviser.
Who is the tenant, and how long is the lease?
Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc., part of Albertsons, is the tenant, and O'Reilly Auto Parts subleases adjacent space. PREP Exchange's March 23, 2026 release says Shaw's has leased the property continuously since March 1997 and signed a 15-year extension in December 2024; AltsWire reported the term now runs through December 31, 2039 with six five-year extension options at fair market value. The lease document governs, not a press release — the Private Placement Memorandum, the offering's full disclosure document, should carry the terms.
Is this Trust still raising money?
It is listed as open to new investors. The Trust's SEC record consists of a Form D notice dated April 7, 2026, and no later amendment was located in public filings reviewed as of August 29, 2026. Public filings therefore do not settle where subscriptions stand today; the sponsor or your own representative would have current figures.
What is the minimum investment?
The Form D filed April 7, 2026 reports a $50,000 minimum investment for outside investors. Sponsors sometimes apply a different minimum to 1031 exchange money than to straight cash subscriptions, and the Private Placement Memorandum governs. Verify the minimum and any exchange-specific terms there.
What does the sponsor get paid out of this offering?
The Form D filed April 7, 2026 reports $2,038,796 of sales commissions and finders' fees associated with the offering. Form D figures are estimates at the time of filing and do not cover everything: the Private Placement Memorandum sets out the complete fee and expense table, including acquisition fees, organization and offering costs, and ongoing asset management fees.
How would investors eventually exit?
The record shows no 721/UPREIT feature — no provision to swap investor interests for operating-partnership units in a REIT. This is a single-property trust pointed toward an eventual sale of the building, so the exit depends on that disposition. The Private Placement Memorandum sets out the trustee's sale authority and any stated hold expectations.