Nine self-storage properties concentrated in Amarillo, Texas, changed hands on November 4, 2021. Inland Private Capital announced that day the sale of a 34-property self-storage portfolio, and Top1031's disposition record places Amarillo Self-Storage Portfolio DST's properties in that transaction.
What the Trust itself put on the public record is short.
Amarillo Self-Storage Portfolio DST, as filed | |
|---|---|
Sponsor | Inland Private Capital |
Exemption claimed | 506(b) |
Asset class, as recorded | Other Real Estate |
Offering amount | $5,486,879 |
Minimum investment | $25,000 |
First Form D filing | |
Disposition on record | Property sold |
Hold period, Form D filing to closing | 3.1 years |
The figures the sponsor put on the sale describe the transaction and a group of programs, not this Trust standing alone.
Figure carried in the record | |
|---|---|
Aggregate sale price, 34 properties | $265 million, as reported by the sponsor (announcement) |
Sale price recorded against this offering, basis given as the sponsor's announcement, confidence high | $80.4 million, as reported by the sponsor (announcement) |
Weighted-average total return, Portfolios I, II and IV | 169%, as reported by the sponsor (announcement) |
Stated for Amarillo Self-Storage Portfolio DST alone | not stated |
Two entries in the record pull against each other. The disposition file carries that sale price against this offering with high confidence, while the same file's summary states that a sale price for Amarillo Self-Storage Portfolio DST alone was not stated in the announcement. Both readings are in the record; this report relies on the summary, because the announcement's figures as recorded are aggregate ones and no document in the record assigns the amount to this Trust by name. The evidence attached to that sale-price field is the sponsor's announcement together with a third-party executive summary for Inland Self-Storage Portfolio IV DST, and nothing in the record states how the Trust's interests relate to that program.
The basis on which the sponsor calculated the weighted average is not disclosed in the record. Nor is an original distribution figure for the Trust: the offering documents, not the Form D, would state those terms, and they are not public.
Top1031 derives the hold period from the Trust's first Form D filing to the closing, because the record carries no acquisition date for the nine properties; the span therefore begins at the September 27, 2018 filing rather than at the purchase of the real estate.