Quarters at Bloomington
Student housing property in Bloomington, IN — sponsor not disclosed
Files with the SEC as BT Bloomington Student Housing DST
Sponsor-reported, from SEC filings and cited sources.
What is this, in one paragraph?
BT Bloomington Student Housing DST is a Delaware statutory trust — a structure that lets 1031 exchangers hold fractional interests in real estate — holding The Quarters at Bloomington, a student housing community near Indiana University.2 Baker Tilly sponsored it as its first DST offering, and AltsWire reported the $26.5 million raise was fully subscribed in the first week of July 2022.4
Show sources (13)Hide sources (13)
These links support the historical public record; individual details may come from different sources.
On a 45-day clock? Find day 45 and day 180 from the sale date, then come back to this record.
What exactly is the property?
The Quarters at Bloomington sits at 1521 Isaac Dr, roughly two miles from the Indiana University campus.2 Tailwind Group's portfolio page describes the community as a 2018 build with 178 one-, two-, three-, and four-bedroom apartments.1 Baker Tilly describes the community as acquired in January 2022, months before the Trust's offering notice reached the SEC.3
- Reported location
- Bloomington, IN
- Property size
- 5 buildings; 477 beds
Who is the tenant, and what's the lease?
There is no single corporate tenant here: revenue comes from individual student leases, signed bed by bed and turned over on the academic calendar. The property was marketing Fall 2026 leases as of November 10, 2025.7 Its published FAQ states that no lease break or buy-out options are offered.6
How did it end?
Closed to new investment · still operating
Trellis reports that BT Bloomington Student Housing DST d/b/a Quarters Bloomington filed a landlord-tenant property case on April 22, 2026, while the official Quarters Bloomington site advertises pre-leasing for 2027–2028, providing affirmative evidence of continued operation; no exit metrics are stated.
Baker Tilly describes Quarters at Bloomington as a community near Indiana University acquired in January 2022; the property has five buildings and 477 beds.
5 buildings; 477 bedsWho's behind it?
The Form D names BT Bloomington Student Housing Depositor, LLC as depositor and BT Bloomington Student Housing Manager, LLC as manager.5 Both sit under the DST platform of Baker Tilly, the accounting and advisory firm, which sponsors these offerings through wholly owned subsidiary BT REI Manager, LLC.3 AltsWire reported this was Baker Tilly's first DST.4 On August 8, 2025 The White Law Group said it was investigating potential broker-dealer claims tied to the Trust; no filed complaint was located.8
- Sponsor
- Sponsor not disclosedThe filing does not identify a sponsor we can confirm.
- Legal Trust name
- BT Bloomington Student Housing DST
- May convert to a REIT
- Not stated
Reported by the sponsor. Top1031 does not independently audit sponsor-reported figures.
What does the paperwork say?
AltsWire reported the offering launched in late March 2022, so the notice below is a snapshot taken partway through the raise rather than a final tally.4 Interests were sold privately to accredited investors — people meeting SEC income or net-worth thresholds — without public advertising, and the Trust never amended its notice.
- Form D filedFirst and latest filing on record.
- Filings on record
- 1
- How it may be offered
- Rule 506(b)Not advertised publicly. Offered through existing relationships.
- Source filing
- Read the filings on SEC EDGAR
A Form D is the notice a sponsor files when it starts raising money. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
DST interests are illiquid private securities. You may lose some or all of your investment. Distributions, tax treatment, and exit timing are not guaranteed. Review the current Private Placement Memorandum before investing.
Common questions
What happened to Quarters at Bloomington?
Top1031 lists Quarters at Bloomington as historical. It is no longer raising money.
Where does Top1031 get the data for Quarters at Bloomington?
Top1031 builds this record from the sponsor’s own SEC filings and cited sponsor disclosures. Filings can lag what is happening now. A Form D filing does not mean the SEC approved, endorsed, or verified the offering.
Can I still invest in this Trust?
No. AltsWire reported on July 18, 2022 that the offering was fully subscribed in the first week of that month, after launching in late March 2022. It is closed to new investors. Interests occasionally change hands on DST secondary marketplaces, but those are private transactions between holders, not a continuing offering by the Trust.
What does the Trust actually own?
A single student housing community, The Quarters at Bloomington, at 1521 Isaac Dr in Bloomington, Indiana, about two miles from the Indiana University campus. Tailwind Group's portfolio page lists 178 apartments in one- through four-bedroom layouts, built in 2018. Baker Tilly describes the community as acquired in January 2022.
Who pays the rent?
Individual students and their guarantors, under leases tied to the academic year, rather than one corporate tenant on a long-term net lease. The public record located does not establish a master tenant, a master lease counterparty, or a whole-property occupancy figure. Property marketing pages showing leasing seasons or a sold-out floor plan are not occupancy statistics.
Is the property leveraged?
The public record does not say. The Form D does not disclose property-level debt, and no lender, loan balance, or loan-to-value figure was located in sponsor materials or public records. Those terms, if any, would appear in the private placement memorandum and the loan documents delivered to subscribers at closing.
Has there been any litigation or investor complaint?
On August 8, 2025 The White Law Group, a law firm that solicits investor claims, published an investigation notice regarding potential securities claims against broker-dealers that recommended the Trust. No filed complaint or other primary record supporting it was located. Separately, a Monroe County, Indiana court record dated April 22, 2026 shows the Trust as plaintiff in a routine eviction matter; the accessible order is procedural and states no outcome.
What does Rule 506(b) mean for this offering?
Rule 506(b) is the private-placement exemption that lets an issuer sell securities without registering them, provided it does not advertise the offering publicly and sells essentially only to accredited investors. In practice, that means the Trust was distributed through broker-dealers and advisers to investors who already had a relationship with them, rather than marketed openly.